Marble Surface

P. J. VERNON

  • goodreads-128
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
 

BOOKS

Bath Haus_final_1.26.jpg

June 15, 2021

wherever books are sold

CLICK TO PRE-ORDER

Bath Haus 

 

A young gay man in a perfect marriage who will do anything to keep a dangerous indiscretion from his loving husband. 

Oliver Park, a young recovering addict from Indiana, finally has everything he ever wanted: sobriety and a loving partner in Dr. Nathan Klein, a prominent Washington D.C. trauma surgeon. Despite their difference in age and disparate backgrounds, they've built an enviable life together. They make the picture-perfect couple. With everything to lose, Oliver shouldn't be visiting Haus, a gay bathhouse. But through the entrance he goes, and it’s a line crossed. Inside, he follows a man into a private room, and it’s the final line--whatever happens next, Nathan can never know.

 

In the seductive anonymity of that room, Oliver’s encounter goes terrifyingly wrong, and he barely escapes with his life. Racing home in full-blown terror as the hand-shaped bruise grows dark on his neck, Oliver knows the truth will destroy Nathan and their life together. So Oliver does the thing he used to do so well: he lies.

What follows is a classic runaway-train narrative, full of the exquisite escalations, edge-of-your-seat thrills, and oh-my-god twists. P. J. Vernon's Bath Haus is a scintillating thriller with an emotional punch, perfect for readers curious for their next must-read novel.

 

Available now

wherever books are sold

CLICK TO PURCHASE

Coming soon in paperback

(June 15, 2021)

 

When You Find Me

Her husband is missing.


Visiting her family’s South Carolina estate, socialite Gray Godfrey wakes from a night out to an empty bed. Her husband Paul is gone and a thrashing hangover has wiped her memory clean. At first, she’s relieved for the break from her tumultuous marriage; perhaps Paul just needed some space. But when his car is found abandoned on the highway, Gray must face the truth: Paul is gone. And Gray may not want him found. 

Her life is unraveling.

When a stranger named Annie calls claiming to know Paul’s whereabouts, Gray reluctantly accepts her help. But this ally is not what she seems: soon Annie is sending frightening messages and revealing disturbing secrets only Gray could know. As Annie’s threats escalate and Gray’s grip on reality begins to slip, the life she thought she had and the dark truth she’s been living begin to merge, leaving an unsettling question: What does Annie want? And what will she do to get it?

A chilling look at marriage, madness, and the lives we think we lead, When You Find Me is a daring debut from a talented new voice in psychological suspense. Perfect for fans of S. J. Watson and Gillian Flynn's Sharp Objects.

Cristina Alger, New York Times bestselling author of Trust Me

 

ADVANCE PRAISE FOR BATH HAUS

“A nightmarish white-knuckler about the tenuous relationship between stability and control.”

O, The Oprah Magazine

"Cunning lies and premeditated schemes, from gaslighting to murder, lead to the unraveling of Oliver and Nathan’s increasingly shaky relationship. Vernon keeps the suspense high as the plot twists and turns to the satisfying resolution. This is a no-brainer for Patricia Highsmith fans."

Publishers Weekly 

Bath Haus is riveting: a gripping thriller about how quickly a life can unravel after a single bad decision. P. J. Vernon deftly reminds us that the terrifying traumas from childhood are often but a prelude to the nightmares we will walk into as adults. This book is stylish, smart, and scary as hell.”

 

Chris Bohjalian, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Flight Attendant and Hour of the Witch

Bath Haus is utterly brilliant. It’s perfectly paced, gripping from go, and its clean, elegant prose goes down like scotch on the rocks. Once I picked it up, I couldn’t stop. It’s one of the best thrillers I’ve read in a very long time.”

 

Cristina Alger, New York Times bestselling author of Girls Like Us 

"P. J. Vernon has crafted a thriller that is dark, gripping, and addictive. Reading Bath Haus is like eavesdropping on the disintegration of a beautiful lie. You think you know how it's going to end but you have NO IDEA."

 

S. A. Cosby, author of Blacktop Wasteland 

"Bath Haus is an electrifying, addictive, and terrifying thriller that lodged my heart in my throat from the first line. The gorgeous writing and masterful, enthralling plot dug into my skin, not letting go until the explosive ending. P. J. Vernon is a spectacular talent with a brilliant voice that will hypnotize you."

 

Samantha M. Bailey, USA Today bestselling author of Woman on the Edge

“What a ride! Taut as piano wire prose, propulsive plotting. Breathlessly twisty. Brilliantly addictive.”

 

C. J. Tudor, author of The Burning Girls

"Sexy, twisted and sharp—reading Bath Haus is like reaching for a man's fly and discovering it's made of razor wire."

 

John Fram, author of The Bright Lands

Bath Haus is a highly unique, taut, thrill ride with relatable characters, stunning twists, and startling depth. I was absolutely riveted from the first to the final shocking page. A tour de force!”

 

Robyn Harding, international bestselling author of The Swap

“PJ Vernon’s Bath Haus grabbed me by the throat (pun intended) from the opening lines. Dark, gritty, not to mention completely terrifying, the tension builds chapter after chapter, to the point where you can’t help but gasp out loud. You know bad things are coming. You know people will get hurt. But you can’t stop yourself from greedily binge-reading the pages until you reach the epic conclusion. Booklist may have called P. J. Vernon “a name to watch in the thriller genre” but I say, “Look out, world” – because he has arrived, and I, for one, am riveted. Sinister, explosive and utterly addictive, Bath Haus is a thriller on steroids.”

 

Hannah Mary McKinnon, bestselling author of Sister Dear

"I read Bath Haus in one sitting and I absolutely loved, loved, loved it! I stayed up until 2am to finish it and skipped my home workout also, so that tells you everything you need to know. The best aspect for me is that Bath Haus feels completely authentic. Both as a thriller and as a gay story."

 

North Morgan, author of Into?: A Novel
 
“This book stole my breath. With edgy narration and exquisite—almost painful—suspense, Bath Haus will hit your bloodstream like a tumbler of fine bourbon. A masterpiece among thrillers.”

 

Kimmery Martin, author of The Queen of Hearts and The Antidote for Everything.
 
Bath Haus gave me non-stop anxiety and thrills, and I unraveled while watching Oliver weave webs of lies and deceit. There’s a new domestic suspense thriller joining the pantheon of all time greats. You won’t be able to stop reading, but you’ll also be terrified of what comes next. Utterly brilliant.”

 

Amina Akhtar, author of #FashionVictim

"Clear your schedule and mute your phone. Bath Haus is a sexy-turns-sadistic fun house that will grab you by the throat and keep you in its clutches till its delicious, twisty end."

 

Kelly J. Ford, author of Cottonmouths

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

114 (1).jpg

P. J. Vernon was born in South Carolina. Called a "rising star thriller writer" by Library Journal, Vernon's debut, When You Find Me, was both an Audible Plus #1 Listen and Associated Press Top Ten U.S. Audiobook. His next novel, Bath Haus, praised as "a nightmarish white-knuckler by O, The Oprah Magazine, releases June 15, 2021 from Doubleday. He lives in Calgary with his husband and two wily dogs.

Photo by Jodi O.

 

CONTACT

Literary Representation:
Chris Bucci
Aevitas Creative Management
Film/TV Representation:
Katrina Escudero
Sugar23

All other inquiries, please use the provided form:

Thanks! Message sent.