BOOKS

Bath Haus_final_1.26.jpg

Available now
wherever books are sold

CLICK TO PURCHASE

Bath Haus 

 

A young gay man in a perfect marriage who will do anything to keep a dangerous indiscretion from his loving husband. 

Oliver Park, a young recovering addict from Indiana, finally has everything he ever wanted: sobriety and a loving partner in Dr. Nathan Klein, a prominent Washington D.C. trauma surgeon. Despite their difference in age and disparate backgrounds, they've built an enviable life together. They make the picture-perfect couple. With everything to lose, Oliver shouldn't be visiting Haus, a gay bathhouse. But through the entrance he goes, and it’s a line crossed. Inside, he follows a man into a private room, and it’s the final line--whatever happens next, Nathan can never know.

 

In the seductive anonymity of that room, Oliver’s encounter goes terrifyingly wrong, and he barely escapes with his life. Racing home in full-blown terror as the hand-shaped bruise grows dark on his neck, Oliver knows the truth will destroy Nathan and their life together. So Oliver does the thing he used to do so well: he lies.

What follows is a classic runaway-train narrative, full of the exquisite escalations, edge-of-your-seat thrills, and oh-my-god twists. P. J. Vernon's Bath Haus is a scintillating thriller with an emotional punch, perfect for readers curious for their next must-read novel.

Available now in paperback
wherever books are sold
CLICK TO PURCHASE
 

When You Find Me

Her husband is missing.


Visiting her family’s South Carolina estate, socialite Gray Godfrey wakes from a night out to an empty bed. Her husband Paul is gone and a thrashing hangover has wiped her memory clean. At first, she’s relieved for the break from her tumultuous marriage; perhaps Paul just needed some space. But when his car is found abandoned on the highway, Gray must face the truth: Paul is gone. And Gray may not want him found. 

Her life is unraveling.

When a stranger named Annie calls claiming to know Paul’s whereabouts, Gray reluctantly accepts her help. But this ally is not what she seems: soon Annie is sending frightening messages and revealing disturbing secrets only Gray could know. As Annie’s threats escalate and Gray’s grip on reality begins to slip, the life she thought she had and the dark truth she’s been living begin to merge, leaving an unsettling question: What does Annie want? And what will she do to get it?

A chilling look at marriage, madness, and the lives we think we lead, When You Find Me is a daring debut from a talented new voice in psychological suspense. Perfect for fans of S. J. Watson and Gillian Flynn's Sharp Objects.

Cristina Alger, New York Times bestselling author of Trust Me

 

PRAISE FOR BATH HAUS

Recommended by The New York Times, O, The Oprah Magazine, The Washington Post, Lambda Literary, LGBTQ Reads, The New York Post, Oprah Daily, Crime by the Book, CrimeReads, Goodreads 2021 Pride Reading List, Jezebel, Entertainment Weekly, and Parade

A white-knuckle ride to the dark side of infidelity. . .Bath Haus [is] a smart, steamy thriller laced with heady questions about control and shame.”

The New York Times Book Review, Daniel Nieh

“A hit among some of the hottest thriller writers working today.”

Parade, “Thrill-Seeking with Riley Sager"

"A nightmarish white-knuckler about the tenuous relationship between stability and control."

O, The Oprah Magazine

"A wildly entertaining thriller with twists and tension to spare."

Entertainment Weekly - Catherine Ryan Howard, international bestselling author of The Nothing Man
 
“Terrifying.”

The New York Post

“The tension builds to unbearably claustrophobic levels. To say more would rob readers of the 'no, he didn’t' suspense that makes “Bath Haus” an unexpectedly twisted, heart-pounding cat-versus-mouse thriller."

Los Angeles Times

“This is the perfect novel for those looking for the proverbial 'beach read’. . .Suspenseful, sensual, and exceedingly clever, this thriller is the literary equivalent of sipping a glass of white wine while listening to your neighbors have a lovers’ spat . . . before one of them picks up a knife. Vernon has an electric style that leaps off the page.”

The Washington Post
 
“What makes Bath Haus so engaging is that Vernon gives Oliver many layers. He’s not superficial or hedonistic or merely foolish. You can’t write him off…Vernon knows how to grab you from the first line and not let go; he also knows that plot means nothing without a character we can root for, even when he’s making terrifyingly dangerous choices."

Lambda Literary
 

"[An] adrenaline-soaked pulse-pounder."

The New York Times
 
“It’s refreshing to see a man on the sharp end of the casual sex has its consequences stick, but Vernon is not just making a sociological point. He has presented us with an enticingly dark and twisted set up, and boy does he play it out.”

CrimeReads

“Absorbing and exciting. . .Bath Haus is not just excellent gay fiction . . . [It’s] a deftly written suspenseful thriller. It is also a brilliant character study of a disastrously dysfunctional couple.”

The New York Journal of Books
 
“[Vernon’s] pulse-pounding story of secrets and lies and twists grabbed us from the first page and never lets go.”

Barnes & Noble
 
“[An] addictive cat-and-mouse thriller.”

Palm Beach Daily News
 
“Gone Girl with gays and Grindr. Come on, with a pitch like that, how can you NOT be intrigued? . . . [Bath Haus] absolutely delivered.”

Jezebel - Mia P. Manansala, Award winning author of Arsenic & Adobo
 

“This book is not fooling around. . .Things come to a head in a finale that initially feels like a collision between The Boys in the Band and Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf? but quickly spirals into genuine nail-biting terror. Don’t miss Bath Haus. It’s intricate, speedy and scary."

BookPage
 
“Gripping from its opening scene, and it tightens with each new plot twist. . . A sleek, sexy queer thriller.”

Library Journal
 

"This book is stylish, smart, and scary as hell."

Chris Bohjalian, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Flight Attendant


“Bath Haus is utterly brilliant. It’s perfectly paced, gripping from go, and its clean, elegant prose goes down like scotch on the rocks. Once I picked it up, I couldn’t stop. It’s one of the best thrillers I’ve read in a very long time.”

Christina Alger, New York Times bestselling author of Girls Like Us

"P. J. Vernon has crafted a thriller that is dark, gripping, and addictive. Reading Bath Haus is like eavesdropping on the disintegration of a beautiful lie. You think you know how it's going to end but you have NO IDEA."

S. A. Cosby, New York Times bestselling author of Razorblade Tears 

"Bath Haus starts out as a cat-and-mouse thriller, but by the end you’ll realize that everyone is both cat and mouse. You’ll also be a breathless wreck, because this book is not fooling around. . .Things come to a head in a finale that initially feels like a collision between The Boys in the Band and Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf? but quickly spirals into genuine nail-biting terror. Don’t miss Bath Haus. It’s intricate, speedy and scary."

BookPage

"Bath Haus is an electrifying, addictive, and terrifying thriller that lodged my heart in my throat from the first line. The gorgeous writing and masterful, enthralling plot dug into my skin, not letting go until the explosive ending. P. J. Vernon is a spectacular talent with a brilliant voice that will hypnotize you."

Samantha M. Bailey, USA Today bestselling author of Woman on the Edge

“What a ride! Taut as piano wire prose, propulsive plotting. Breathlessly twisty. Brilliantly addictive.”

C. J. Tudor, author of The Burning Girls

"Sexy, twisted and sharp—reading Bath Haus is like reaching for a man's fly and discovering it's made of razor wire."

John Fram, author of The Bright Lands

“Bath Haus is a highly unique, taut, thrill ride with relatable characters, stunning twists, and startling depth. I was absolutely riveted from the first to the final shocking page. A tour de force!”

Robyn Harding, international bestselling author of The Swap

“PJ Vernon’s Bath Haus grabbed me by the throat (pun intended) from the opening lines. Dark, gritty, not to mention completely terrifying, the tension builds chapter after chapter, to the point where you can’t help but gasp out loud. You know bad things are coming. You know people will get hurt. But you can’t stop yourself from greedily binge-reading the pages until you reach the epic conclusion. Booklist may have called P. J. Vernon “a name to watch in the thriller genre” but I say, “Look out, world” – because he has arrived, and I, for one, am riveted. Sinister, explosive and utterly addictive, Bath Haus is a thriller on steroids.”

Hannah Mary McKinnon, bestselling author of Sister Dear

"I read Bath Haus in one sitting and I absolutely loved, loved, loved it! I stayed up until 2am to finish it and skipped my home workout also, so that tells you everything you need to know. The best aspect for me is that Bath Haus feels completely authentic. Both as a thriller and as a gay story."

North Morgan, author of Into?: A Novel
 
“This book stole my breath. With edgy narration and exquisite—almost painful—suspense, Bath Haus will hit your bloodstream like a tumbler of fine bourbon. A masterpiece among thrillers.”

Kimmery Martin, author of The Queen of Hearts and The Antidote for Everything
 
“Bath Haus gave me non-stop anxiety and thrills, and I unraveled while watching Oliver weave webs of lies and deceit. There’s a new domestic suspense thriller joining the pantheon of all time greats. You won’t be able to stop reading, but you’ll also be terrified of what comes next. Utterly brilliant.”

Amina Akhtar, author of #FashionVictim

"Clear your schedule and mute your phone. Bath Haus is a sexy-turns-sadistic fun house that will grab you by the throat and keep you in its clutches till its delicious, twisty end."

Kelly J. Ford, author of Cottonmouths

UPCOMING EVENTS

 

AUG 2

IG Live w/ @darkthrillsandchills

20:15 EST on Zoom

AUG 3

Skipping Stone Fundraiser Media Interview

8:30 EST on CBC Calgary Eyeopener

AUG 4

X Marks the Spot - Skipping Stones Fundraiser

w/ David Demchuk, Giller nominated author of The Red X

20:00 EST hosted by Owl's Nest Books; register here

AUG 7

Outwrite DC: Murder By Zoom - A Reading Featuring LGBTQ Crime Writers

17:00 EST on Zoom

AUG 26

Imagine On Air Presents Robyn Harding & P.J. Vernon

21:00 EST on Livestream; register here

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

114 (1).jpg

P. J. Vernon was born in South Carolina. Called a "rising star thriller writer" by Library Journal, Vernon's debut, When You Find Me, was both an Audible Plus #1 Listen and Associated Press Top Ten U.S. Audiobook. His next novel, Bath Haus, praised as "a nightmarish white-knuckler by O, The Oprah Magazine, releases June 15, 2021 from Doubleday. He lives in Calgary with his husband and two wily dogs.

Photo by Jodi O.

 

CONTACT

Literary Representation:
Chris Bucci
Aevitas Creative Management
Film/TV Representation:
Katrina Escudero
Sugar23

All other inquiries, please use the provided form:

Thanks! Message sent.