pexels-cottonbro-4646214 (2).jpg

P. J. VERNON

  • goodreads-128
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
 

BOOKS

Available wherever books are sold.

 

Her husband is missing.

Visiting her family’s South Carolina estate, socialite Gray Godfrey wakes from a night out to an empty bed. Her husband Paul is gone and a thrashing hangover has wiped her memory clean. At first, she’s relieved for the break from her tumultuous marriage; perhaps Paul just needed some space. But when his car is found abandoned on the highway, Gray must face the truth: Paul is gone. And Gray may not want him found. 

Her life is unraveling.

When a stranger named Annie calls claiming to know Paul’s whereabouts, Gray reluctantly accepts her help. But this ally is not what she seems: soon Annie is sending frightening messages and revealing disturbing secrets only Gray could know. As Annie’s threats escalate and Gray’s grip on reality begins to slip, the life she thought she had and the dark truth she’s been living begin to merge, leaving an unsettling question: What does Annie want? And what will she do to get it?

A chilling look at marriage, madness, and the lives we think we lead, When You Find Me is a daring debut from a talented new voice in psychological suspense. Perfect for fans of S. J. Watson and Gillian Flynn's Sharp Objects.

When You Find Me (French Edition)

12 septembre 2019

Une certaine Annie (French Edition)

Imaginez qu'une parfaite inconnue connaisse tout de vous.
Dans la lignée de Gillian Flynn et S.J. Watson, un thriller psychologique obsédant, poétique, intense.


Dans l'ambiance moite des marais du sud des États-Unis, Gray et son mari, Paul, passent les fêtes de Noël en famille. Leur couple bat de l'aile : Paul a des ambitions politiques et l'alcoolisme de Gray commence à lui poser problème. Comme ce soir du 24 décembre où elle s'enivre dans un pub. Le lendemain, incapable de rassembler ses souvenirs, Gray se réveille, seule. Paul a disparu. Que s'est-il passé la veille ?


Quelques jours plus tard, Paul n'a toujours pas réapparu. Une certaine Annie appelle et affirme savoir où il est. Elle propose son aide, mais Gray hésite. Qui est cette inconnue ? Que veut-elle ? Les coups de fil d'Annie se révèlent de plus en plus troublants : la vie de Gray semble n'avoir aucun secret pour elle. Amie ou ennemie, Annie n'a sûrement pas que de bonnes intentions...

P.J Vernon est originaire de Caroline du Sud (États-Unis). Une certaine Annie, salué par la critique et les lecteurs, est son premier roman.

June 15, 2021

Preorder Now

Wherever books are sold

Bath Haus 

 

A propulsive, provocative, urgent suspense novel that follows a young gay man in a perfect marriage who will do anything to keep a dangerous indiscretion from his loving husband.

For fans of Gillian Flynn, Paula Hawkins, SJ Watson, and Laura Lippman.

"Bath Haus is utterly brilliant. It's perfectly paced, gripping from go, and its clean, elegant prose goes down like scotch on the rocks. Once I picked it up, I couldn't stop. It's one of the best thrillers I've read in a very long time"—Cristina Alger, New York Times bestselling author of Girls Like Us

 

Oliver Park, a young recovering addict from Indiana, finally has everything he ever wanted: sobriety and a loving, wealthy partner in Nathan, a prominent DC trauma surgeon. Despite their difference in age and disparate backgrounds, they’ve made a perfect life together. With everything to lose, Oliver shouldn’t be visiting Haus, a gay bathhouse. But through the entrance he goes, and it’s a line crossed. Inside, he follows a man into a private room, and it’s the final line. Whatever happens next, Nathan can never know. But then, everything goes wrong, terribly wrong, and Oliver barely escapes with his life.

 

He races home in full-blown terror as the hand-shaped bruise grows dark on his neck. The truth will destroy Nathan and everything they have together, so Oliver does the thing he used to do so well: he lies.

 

What follows is a classic runaway-train narrative, full of the exquisite escalations, edge-of-your-seat thrills, and oh-my-god twists. P. J. Vernon’s Bath Haus is a scintillating thriller with an emotional punch, perfect for readers curious for their next must-read novel.

 

PRAISE FOR WHEN YOU FIND ME

"Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn... A psychological suspense I inhaled in two sittings that left me looking forward to Vernon's next work because that was a hell of a debut!"

Book Riot

"Southern gothic meets psychological suspense in Vernon's eerie debut... Fans of dark tales of familial and marital discord will be satisfied."

Publishers Weekly

"Vernon creates a fleet, suffocating sense of velvet nightmare."

Kirkus Reviews

"This gripping debut marks Vernon as a name to watch in the thriller genre."

Booklist

"An assured and well-crafted debut with slow-building tension... Coincides nicely with the television adaptation of Gillian Flynn's Sharp Objects, which has fans looking for other moody, Southern gothic reads. They will definitely want to read this."

Library Journal

"It's a roller coaster ride to the end, and Vernon offers up plenty of surprises in an assured debut... Carve out some time for this eerie, atmospheric read, and hold on tight."

Criminal Element 

"This story has it all. Family dysfunction, substance abuse, old secrets, betrayal, madness, and a missing husband. In other words, prepare for a gripping read, and be sure to start early. Your eyes could be on the pages until sunrise."

New York Journal of Books

"Chilling, original, and incredibly unsettling . . . You will not be able to stop reading."

Hank Phillippi Ryan, national bestselling author of Trust Me

"I loved this book! Mercurial characters and excellent writing kept me riveted from beginning to end. Vernon makes us question everything and everyone..."

Susan Crawford, author of The Pocket Wife and The Other Widow

"An atmospheric thriller that pulls readers deep into the muck of a wealthy Carolina family and sucks them under, leaving them gasping for breath at the shocking conclusion"

Cate Holahan, USA Today bestselling author of Lies She Told

"P. J. Vernon’s taut debut is destined to be one of the most electrifying thrillers of 2018. From an exciting new author to watch, When You Find Me is a definite addition to your must-read list"

Gale Massey, author of The Girl From Blind River

"When You Find Me is the sort of story that grabs you by the neck and keeps you breathless as the secrets of this genteel southern world unfold in a series of horrifying revelations. Like a gin-soaked fever-dream, it unfolds at a delicious pace. Set aside a day; once you start, you won’t put it down."

Tiffany Quay Tyson, author of The Past is Never and Three Rivers

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

P. J. Vernon was born in South Carolina and has been called “a name to watch in the thriller genre” (Booklist). Library Journal and Book Riot compare his critically-acclaimed Gothic debut When You Find Me to Gillian Flynn’s Sharp Objects. His next thriller, Bath Haus, is forthcoming in June 2021 (Doubleday). Vernon is represented by Aevitas Creative Management and United Talent Agency (TV/film). He lives in Canada with his partner and two wily dogs

Photo by Jodi O.

 

CONTACT

Literary Representation:
Chris Bucci
Aevitas Creative Management
Film/TV Representation:
Katrina Escudero
United Talent Agency

All other inquiries, please use the provided form:

© 2020 by P. J. Vernon.

Follow me:

  • goodreads-128
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon